Town Hall Of Spello
The building was built in 1270 by Master Prode, under the podestà government of Giacomo del Mastro. It subsequently underwent a complex transformation and expansion of both the building and the square in front of it.
The most significant phase of the refurbishment of the building dates back to 1567-1575, that is at the end of the rule of the Baglioni: these works are by Lombard master Battaglia di Pietro, who worked in numerous sites commissioned by the Baglioni family.
The building is one of the facilities of the Municipality of Spello.
It houses the municipal library (first recorded in 1865), the notarial archive (with records held since 1370), the municipal historical archive (with documents from 1236), the collection dedicated to the painter Emilio Greco and the Academy of Constantinian Studies.
The Lion And The Wild Boar
Above the ancient loggia with pointed arches, with cross vaulting one can admire three Romanesque bifora windows with columns topped with elegant capitals. The facade features a plaque with a lion in high relief, holding a boar on the ground between its legs, with the date and the name of the architect of the building carved below (1270, Prode).
There are also two panels embedded in the wall, one with a cross and two mirrors (a reference to the ancient municipal coat of arms), the other with the coat of arms of the Maccarelli family from Spello, who was involved in the bloody civil battles of the city around the mid-14th century.
Formerly known as Sala Grande, it has long been widely used for exhibitions, conferences, weddings, etc. It is entirely frescoed with ornamental and celebratory paintings from the 18th and 19th century.
Sala degli Stemmi (Mayor’s Office)
Featuring 93 aristocratic weapons frescoed on the vault, started in 1733 by the painter Feliciano Servoli from Foligno and completed around 1850.
Municipal Library (Old Collection)
The library, which contains some 4000 volumes, was created by bringing together the libraries of the religious guilds suppressed after the unification of Italy. The bibliographic ‘gem’ of the library is an incunabulum printed in Venice in 1474. The shelves, in painted wood featuring a 17th-century Venetian style, were transferred from the convent of St. Andrew.
(Source: Municipality of Spello)
Sala degli Zuccari
Used as a reading room of the Library, an exhibition space and a media library, the room is frescoed with a picturesque decoration dated 1589 and generally attributed to the Zuccari family.